A Central Logging Server with syslog-ng

I have a lot of Linux-based devices in my office and even throughout my home. One day I had a machine that I was having issues with (bad hardware) but couldn’t catch a break and see an error message and at the time of death nothing of use was being written to disk in the logs. I decided to try setting up remote logging to another machine in hopes that it would be transmitted before sudden death. Turned out I got lucky and was able to get an error logged on the remote machine that helped me figure out what the issues was. Since then I’ve had all of my devices that use a compatible logger log to a dedicated machine (a Raspberry Pi) that runs syslog-ng, which is my logger of preference.

Setting up a dedicated logger is easy. Once syslog-ng is installed, we only need to add a few lines to its configuration file to turn it into a logging server:

source net { tcp(); };
destination remote { file(“/var/log/remote/${FULLHOST}.log”); };
log { source(net); destination(remote); };

Here I use TCP as the transport, but you could also use UDP. The remote logs will be saved to /var/log/remote/<the name of the host>.log

Be sure to create the directory for the logging:

# mkdir /var/log/remote

Then restart syslog-ng:

service syslog-ng restart

Next we need to configure a client to log to our new dedicated logging host:

# send everything to log host
destination remote_log_server {
tcp(“10.7.3.1” port(514));
};
log { source(src); destination(remote_log_server); };

In the above example the remote logging server has an IP of 10.7.3.1 so you will want to change that to the IP or hostname of your log server.

Finally, be sure to restart the logging on the client like we did for syslog-ng on the logging server.

That’s all there is to it, very simple, and quick to setup.

Leave a Reply

